It is our mission of the Children’s Dyslexia Center to provide free of charge, the highest quality, state-of-the-art, multisensory tutorial reading and written language instruction to children with dyslexia and to train tutors in the art, science and practice of tutoring children using the Orton-Gillingham approach to multisensory teaching of reading, spelling and writing.  

Historically named 32º Masonic Learning Centers for Children, Inc., Now called the Children’s Dyslexia Center was initially planned and fundraised beginning in 1996 for the first learning center and construction was complete January of 1999.  Our first director was hired in May of 1999 along with our first tutors and students beginning shortly thereafter.  We started with 2 tutors and 4 children.  We were officially the 17th center to open nationwide.  We were happy to uphold the class size of 1 ratio to continue to have one on one tutoring between the student and the teacher.  To date, we have accepted over 100 tutors and over 240 students have benefited from this program. 
About Us

About Us

Historically named 32º Masonic Learning Centers for Children, Inc., program?—Now Children’s Dyslexia Center

  • Valley of Chicago Learning Center
  • Planning and fundraising began in 1996
  • Construction completed January 1999
  • First Director hired in May 1999
  • First tutor training began July 1999 with 2 trainees
  • First Summer Session began July 1999 with 4 children
  • 17th Center to open
  • Class size:  one   One on One tutoring
  • Number of Children Service during a term—varies  ( 25 – 35 )
  • Tutors  accepted over 100
  • Accepted Students over 240
Board of Governor’s

Children’s Dyslexia Center of Metropolitan Chicago

Board of Governor’s

Vytautas “Vyts” Paukstys, Chairman

Edward K. Rutledge, Vice-Chair

Sarah Eddy, Chief Financial Officer

Frank Skorski, Treasurer

Vytenis Kirvelaitis, Finance/Audit Committee

Board Members:

Vytis Bizauskas
David Eddy
James Edgell
Don Esser
Katherine Hamilton
Terry Hartl
Jack Lucas
Joseph Malatia
Howard Schermerhorn
Kurt Rubin

Associate Board Members:

Kenneth Armbruster
Antonio Martinez

 Center Director - Paula Conroy

Center Co- Director - Megan Griffin

Masonic website hosting and design
By Masonic Connections
Copyright © by SoftEXIT 2018